Language of Leadership

I’m sorry about the last two emails my dearest subscribers – they came with a lot of love and a couple of laughs. I’ve been experimenting with wordpress…. little actual understanding was gained from the experimentation. But I did post up a cool quote. I think I got confused between the functions of wordpress & tumblr……

For those who are wondering what this site is, let’s be honest, it’s a place I dump my thoughts… my hope is that I create a sense of the journey and can articulate where I am now so that where I’m going is seen in light of that. That does assume that I’m going somewhere, which I think is true – there is a biblical song I hold fast to:

A Doxology: To him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy— to the only God our Savior be glory, majesty, power and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages, now and forevermore! Amen. – Jude 1:24-25 [TNIV]

To me, stumbling indicates climbing. Which is exactly what I feel I’m doing. I personally get over only seeing people in the midst of their chosen path surrounded by successes, and not seeing those who are writing in the dark (anyone got a scene from Moulin Rouge in their head? I’m about to start dancing…ha! you can tell it’s the last week of quarter). So this is my writing in the dark (with occasional dancing)…

This week I have two papers due. One is about 30-35 pages of missiological reflection upon my thesis topic. I’ve been gingerly stating and restating throughout the course that I don’t want missiological reflections published within my dissertation (can you imagine – ok so here’s how I’m listening to Aboriginal culture, and now here’s how I represent the missions – everyone runs screaming from the room)… luckily missiology has radically reinvented itself, and my work focuses on the lack of understanding and naivety Christians carried out into the bush or desert in the 1800s. Nevertheless, in an ideal world, I’d like a clean break from the past. Because I think we need that. I’m saying “we need to learn from Australia’s Indigenous people, allow their voices to contribute to our churches and nation, and we also need to start ensuring our Christianity is more than just words but it involves us doing something to change Indigenous Disadvantage” – and that’s where I want to leave it. So it means I have to come up with another way – and my course coordinator has agreed that if I can get it to a publishable state, then it doesn’t have to be published with my dissertation. I’m happy with that. But it’s a high bar to reach in my third quarter of study in a new discipline. Maybe too high – maybe I just submit it and work out the finer details later.

The other paper is a literature review. It’s 50-70 pages long, and none of the above work will appear in my dissertation – but it needs to be ticked off in order for my PhD to progress. It is ‘drilled down’ into a smaller literature review that appears in my Initial Research Proposal Evaluation. Without that IRPE baby, I’m sent back home to Australia… which, at times is a somewhat comforting thought. And then I remember that I have degrees in music and theology, and a perchant for annoying questions – and thus will be working in Woolworths Grocery store. Not so comforting. So I’m writing maybe 100 pages over the next 2 weeks, which is why I’m procrastinating by writing this post. And, when I’m on the stage getting that little rolled up piece of paper entitled “PhD”, then you can remember me, writing 100 pages in the dark in a little apartment in Los Angeles.

5 thoughts on “Language of Leadership

  1. My Darling T. No one could ever define you as a person with a “and a perchant for annoying questions ”
    If people like you don’t ask questions who will?
    Love you, miss you guys, bless you heaps.
    Phil

Leave a Reply

